Happy New Year and PopSugar Challenge

Hello my friends! A few people have asked what happened to the blog. My apologies! I got an exciting assignment for work and it was unusually busy (even for me) and I didn’t have too much extra time or energy. But I’m back and will be doing my best to post here on Wednesday and Friday mornings consistently, with maybe a few bonus posts thrown in! I will also post my OOTD or some sort of style-related inspiration to my Instagram account each day, so if you miss me too much you can follow me on Instagram @KayJMitchell.

I’m really excited to start the New Year with a fun idea from PopSugar–the styling hacks challenge! (Read the PopSugar article here and you can follow along with #PSstylinghacks). I’ll be playing along all month, so follow me on Instagram if you want to see every outfit.

Today, I’m taking on “elevating basics.” This one felt like it was right up my alley, so an easy one to start!



I started out with jeans and a white shirt – you can’t get much more basic than that! From there I picked one of the most fun accessories I have: bright floral pumps! I chose the rest of my outfit based on the shoes, so a blush blazer to keep with the soft feel of a floral and a layered turquoise tassel necklace for a pop of color.

Since this is a styling challenge, after all, I decided to try something besides one of my usual standbys. Overall I’m happy with the way this turned out (and a little sad it’s not a work day so I could wear it out of the house). 

What do you think, is a styling challenge something you would take on?

Leave a Reply

