Leggings and Colored Pants


One of the top items on my shopping list right now is colored pants. I haven’t had too much time to shop lately, but as fall approaches (#psl) I’m hoping to find a few great pairs in maroon, grey, and possibly white. In the meantime, I’m satisfying my desire for colored pants with leggings. 

There are things that I really like about wearing leggings as pants: they’re very comfy, they won’t stretch out with wear, and they’re pretty inexpensive so you can experiment with different colors with only a small investment. There are some challenges too though: if you wear them with boots, you’re likely to get some pilling that you wouldn’t experience with jeans, they’re not as forgiving as jeans, and (for myself at least) you’re always wearing them with tunic-style tops, which limits your outfit options. So more pros than cons in my book, but leggings can’t replace a great colored jean entirely for me.


Today I’ve reversed out this outfit and gone with a black tunic top over these red leggings. I think just the color change makes it a more polished outfit, plus this top has a great contrasting texture on the cuffs and collar. I’m wearing it with black heels and a gold tassel necklace today, but you could easily do a flat, either in black or grey or leopard for a more walkable outfit (or if you just don’t like heels!)

Where do you fall on the leggings as pants question?

Leggings – ordered online through Jane.com

Top – (old) Nordstrom Rack

Shoes – (last year) Franco Sarto from DSW

Necklace – (old) JFA show

Leave a Reply

