Comfy Sweaters and Elephant T’s


The sun has come out by now, but when I got up this morning it was overcast and grey. Beyond that it is definitively a bad hair day and possibly a fat day too (you know, the type of day where you feel like you somehow gained 10 pounds overnight, even if your clothes all fit the same). So what’s a girl to do with all of that awesome on a Monday morning? Typically I deal with it in one of two ways: I dress up, usually with bright colors, or I wear all of my favorite things at one time.

Today I went for option b. My go-to jeans, an elephant t-shirt, and a super comfy draped cardigan. It feels cozy without being too heavy, like wrapping up in a little blanket. The great thing about this cardigan is that one day it’s a little blanket, and the next I can wear it with something dressier and it’s an elegant completed piece. It’s all about versatility.


I’m let my accessories do a lot of the work in this outfit. Leopard flats add texture and another print, and a pointed toe is more formal than a ballet flat. Then a grey statement necklace and a white watch add some additional polish.

In the end, it doesn’t really look that much different than any other t-shirt and cardigan combo, but the way that it makes me feel is more important in this case. That’s part of the reason it’s so important to buy clothes that make you feel great. They can give you confidence or comfort, making you feel good about facing the world, even if you’re not really up for it that day.

What is your favorite “blah” day outfit?

Leave a Reply

