Bold Prints and Low-Maintenance Outfits


With rain in the forecast and not enough coffee in my cup, I wanted a very low-maintenance look for today. My curly hair plus humidity pretty much means “don’t even bother” as far as a hairstyle goes, so the messy bun is a lifesaver in the summer!


For rainy and 90, I want something cool and this top fits the bill perfectly. It’s a cotton so thin that it falls almost like silk, which is pretty much the only way I will wear a button down top. Built a little top-heavy, I like the way button-downs look, but it’s nearly impossible to find a traditional button down that fits. 

This top was a Marshall’s find and it was the feel of the fabric that made me pick it up. This print is a lot bolder than I would normally choose, but once I tried it on, I fell in love. I feel like I should be stepping on to a yacht! I do find that I am much more likely to take risks when trying on clothes at a discount store like Marshall’s or Nordstrom Rack. I don’t know if its the way things are put together in a hodgepodge, or the lower prices, but either way, a lot of the risks I’ve taken at those stores have paid off!

I would encourage you to take risks in your own shopping as well. Especially in the dressing room. It doesn’t cost more than a few minutes to try something on, so pick up a new siloiette, a bold print (or a subtle one), a kimono wrap, or even a romper. If you hate the way it looks, no one has ever seen it but you. But you might fall in love. You might find a whole new favorite category of things, the way I did with pencil skirts. So go on, pick something to try on just based on the print or the cut or even the fabric. You might surprise yourself!

When is the last time you tried something new with your wardrobe?

Leave a Reply

