Dressing Dark in Summertime


I was looking at some Pinspiration photos this weekend of women who were wearing their black pumps in such chic ways. Lately when I’ve put mine on I just feel boring. Maybe because it is summer and the time for bright colors and sandals. Either way, I was inspired to try and wear those plain black heels this morning.


The two ways I saw them worn were with all-dark and with all-light clothing. I opted for the former with dark wash ankle crop jeans and a black lightweight long-sleeved tunic top. I’ve half-tucked the front into my jeans so that it wears more like a blouse than a tunic today.


And I’ve included my favorite accessory, the thing that inspired me to go dark instead of light, a copy of Neil Gaiman’s American Gods. I am about halfway in and am disappointed in myself for not reading any Neil Gaiman before this. It is atmospheric (and yes, dark) and utterly engrossing. Each time I have to put the book down, I have to blink and remember where I am.

Leave a Reply

