Wrap Dress, Kimono Style


My friend Shana reprimanded me this morning for going so longe between posts, so Shana, I’m sorry!

Today’s look centers around one of my very favorite dresses. I got this dress about 10 years ago on a college trip to Austria. (I did not get it from someplace exotic, it was an H&M in Vienna!) That was before kimono-style sleeves really became popular, so I was even more thrilled with this fun find.

There are three main things that I love about this dress that make it extremely wearable:

First, its a wrap dress, so it is flattering on many body types, allowing you to adjust the fit to whatever is most flattering for you. I tie mine as tight as I can!

Second, the sleeves are a great kimono style, which provides a nice drape and movement, but there isn’t an overwhelming amount of extra fabric.


And third is the fabric itself. Not only do I love, love, love this print, its a thicker poly blend so it is both forgiving in fit and doesn’t wrinkle. Eastern-inspired prints have always been a favorite of mine and I feel ever-so-slightly exotic wearing this dress.

I went with a leopard flat for work, which complements the pattern of the dress without competing for attention. I chose this grey stone necklace because I wanted something a little heavier that wouldn’t get lost against the bold print of the dress.


If you haven’t already tried the kimono style, I definitely recommend it! Whether you want something light to cover your arms and shoulders in warmer weather, or just like to feel floaty and ethereal, there are a ton of inexpensive kimono-style wraps available right now.

Not sure how to wear a kimono wrap? Try pairing it with a solid-colored sheath dress, wear it with a tank top over leggings instead of a tunic, or simply exchange your cardigan for a kimono wrap with a tank top and jeans!

One thought on “Wrap Dress, Kimono Style

  1. Pingback: Kimono Tops and Fringe | effortlessly dressed

Leave a Reply

