Surprise! Old Navy Shift Dress

File_004_picmonkeyed

With my figure (and my particular problem areas) I tend toward A line silhouettes. I have discovered that, when it comes to dresses, emphasizing my curves works better than trying to hide them so a shift dress like this would normally be right out.

Like the orange top, this awesome pattern just called to me. When I went to try it on, they didn’t have it in my normal size so, spurred on by my love of the pattern, I decided to size down and see. Voila! A dress that would have been too shapeless in my usual size was perfect one size smaller! To which I say, use the sizing as a guide, but don’t be afraid to go up or down a size (or two) to try to find the right fit. Especially in summer clothing with the floaty cuts, play with sizes to find the fit that makes you comfortable.

I love that this dress is so easy to style either for work with a white cardigan, nice bright flats to pull out the red-orange in the print, and a pendant necklace, or styled for a casual weekend with the necklace and some casual rope sandals. Either way, it is fun and flattering and the more ways something can be worn, the more outfits you get our of it!

 

There were a few things I didn’t get during my shopping excursion. I’ve been wanting to try some fun patterned pants and while Old Navy had a great range of very cute prints, the cut just wasn’t working for me. I’ll keep looking and hopefully you’ll see a post on my patterned pants soon!

I also tried on a maxi dress that I wanted so badly to work. It was a lovely small blue and white print with a blue, white and rust band at the bottom. Chiffon outer layer, a nice white liner (no underwear showing through), but the drape was just on the wrong side of mumu for me, so I had to let it go.

Fit can be a tricky thing, especially with lighter fabrics. Don’t let a great deal or a beautiful print convince you to buy something that doesn’t fit the way you want it to. In the end, if you don’t like the way it hangs on your body when you get dressed in the morning, it doesn’t matter if it only cost you $8, you’re still not going to wear it. Keep the extra money for when you find the right thing.

Leave a Reply

