Outfit of the Day: To Boutique or not to Boutique

It is a rainy, dreary day today and when I got up this morning, all I wanted was to be comfortable. And to not wear full length pants and have them drag on the wet ground.

I am fortunate enough to have a pretty casual workplace dress code, so these cropped jeans are perfectly work appropriate as long as I dress them up a bit with something like sparkly grey pointed-toe flats. Add a tank with a fun print and a comfy-but-light cardigan and I’m all set. This cardigan is so fabulous that I bought it in three different colors. It’s light enough to wear in the spring or to work in the summer, the fabric is thin so it hangs nicely and doesn’t add too much bulk, and it adds some variety in silhouette and length to my cardigan lineup.



The top is the real hero of this outfit though. The pattern is intricate and pulls together pink, yellow, and purple without looking loud. Many of my pieces come from big chain stores (Target, JCP, Marshalls, Nordstrom Rack, etc), which is great for price and availability. Boutique stores tend to be pricier and have fewer sales but they also have a (typically) well-curated selection and a lot of unique pieces you might not find elsewhere.

This tank is a perfect example. I got it an an awesome local boutique called Jeans and a Cute Top Shop a few years ago. It was a little more than I would typically want to pay for a tank top (in the neighborhood of $35), but the quality, the cut, and the amazing print were too good to pass up. And I’ve worn this top so many times in so many ways over the last few years, it was definitely worth the investment.

3 thoughts on “Outfit of the Day: To Boutique or not to Boutique

Leave a Reply

